The Eclectic One

…Because labels are a poor substitute for thinking

Kathleen Parker is in kool-aid detox

Posted by Bill Nance on October 1, 2008

Forgive me if I engage in a bit of schadenfreude.

It seems conservatve columnist Kathleen Parker, a writer who is a frequent contributor to the National Review On-Line, is receiving hate-mail from angry Rethuglicans after she suggested that Sarah Palin might not be qualified for the second most powerful office in the world.

The Juice:

Allow me to introduce myself. I am a traitor and an idiot. Also, my mother should have aborted me and left me in a Dumpster, but since she didn’t, I should “off” myself.
Those are just a few nuggets randomly selected from thousands of e-mails written in response to my column suggesting that Sarah Palin is out of her league and should step down.
Who says public discourse hasn’t deteriorated?
The fierce reaction to my column has been both bracing and enlightening. After 20 years of column writing, I’m familiar with angry mail. But the past few days have produced responses of a different order. Not just angry, but vicious and threatening.

Welcome to the America of the last 18 years or so Kathleen, I’m so glad you could join the rest of us.

By the way, in your new-found status as a defender of civility, have you re-thought any of your past opinions about things like, oh, say, the impeachment of Bill Clinton or the Whitewater investigation or “Swift-Boat Veterans for Truth?” -Just asking.

Leave a Reply

 
