The Eclectic One

…Because labels are a poor substitute for thinking

Sarah Palin: The Speech

Posted by Bill Nance on September 4, 2008

A few highlights mostly, just my impressions of what was attempted, what worked, and what didn’t.

I still have no idea whether Sarah Palin has a brain, though I notice someone did carefully train her out of saying Nuc-Ya-Lur between Friday and tonight…I wonder if she’ll be consistent there, which will tell us all if that was drilling rather than learning.

She does though, know how to deliver a speech, and it was a good one. I’ve watched her over Youtube since Friday, so no surprise there. Her political opponents in the past have said she’s a lot more dangerous an opponent than she first appears. I’m starting to see their point. What remains to be seen of course is how well it will play on the campaign trail.

Back to the speech, which was a well-delivered red-meat attack on Obama and “the washington establishment.”

First there were the usual lies. Democrats will raise your taxes. In fact, unless you’re pulling down well over $500,000 a year, that’s totally untrue. In fact for 90% of the country, Obama’s tax plan will REDUCE taxes, by a lot more than McCain’s plan. But, considering the audience what else was she going to say? The truth? Gimme a break.

Then there was the “We’ll protect you” bit.

All I can say is to remind folks that 9/11 didn’t happen on the Democrats watch, and Bill Clinton never got a memo saying “Bin Laden determined to strike US” and failed to act on it. That’s not the Democrats, it’s the Republicans. Also on the security front, she neglected to mention the incredibly botched job done in Iraq, a screwup which has without doubt cost thousands of American lives and God only knows how many Iraqis. This is not the Democrats, this is the Republicans. And I speak as someone gung-ho to kick Saddaam out of Iraq long before the Shrub ever took office. It was a screwup of biblical proportions that has only started to change as a result of the ’06 elections and pressure from his own party forcing Shrub to make some changes.Sadly, I believe it’s too little, far too late. We’re not fighting terrorists in Iraq, we’re in the middle of someone else’s Civil War.

The thing tht actually pissed me off though, was the line “Obama is afraid we won’t read terrorists their rights.”

WHAT THE FUCK?

Purely aside from the fact that the line is a cheap-shot and untrue, yes, BY ALL MEANS let’s talk about the issue.

John McCain was tortured. No one denies this, but John McCain voted specifically to support the CIA doing exactly what was done to him at the Hanoi Hilton. That’s right, the guy who more than any other politician on earth knows about torture VOTED TO DO IT TO OTHERS. I cannot fucking wait for the debates. I really want to see McCain respond to that. So Sarah, ya, I guess if it’s perfectly ok with you and your jingoistic fan-base to commit crimes for which we prosecuted people at Nuremburg, Obama is not going to go with that. Thank God.

The real theme tonight was “I’m a real person just like you…unlike those elitist guys who don’t get it.” And it worked. The problem with America is that it’s filled with people who think someone “just like me” is a good choice to sit across the table from Ahmedinejad and Putin, or make policy decisions on the economy, or how best to manage a 3 trillion dollar annual budget. I think I’m a pretty smart guy and *I* don’t want someone “just like me” me doing that. I want the smartest guy we can find. But it plays well in Peoria.

The real irony in it all though was the constant talk of how McCain and Palin are going to go in and shake up Washington. Clean it up, etc. …Um, a reminder guys, you’ve had congress for 12 of the last 14 years, and the White House for eight.  Who’s mess are you cleaning up again? Ya, thats what I thought.

But the tone over all was sadly what I said it was going to be on Friday. Sarah Palin is a soldier on the red-meat side of the culture wars. Forget any substance, this speech let the world know that this campaign is going to be all about who can lie the best to the most people. and smear the other guy most effectively. In that kind of fight, Democrats suck. Maybe Obama will prove different, but with his skin color already hurting him (and only a fool would say otherwise, let’s face it. And I’m not talking Republicans, I’m just talking Americans, period) if he can’t pull off some mighty fancy footwork, this Rovian strategy could sink him.

So much for a campaign of substance and ideas. I knew it was too much to hope for. At the end I was left with one thought: Holy shit, they just nominated Anne Coulter.

One Response to “Sarah Palin: The Speech”

  1. chintanfezdesai said

    hey good post, ya thats what i thought when she said that to. I mean i didn’t know we were trying to be like the people we are fighting. We are supposed to be Americans and above all subject to the constitution and the rights we offer. The moment you start taking away those rights we lose what we stand for.

    poligiontoday@wordpress.com C.D.

Leave a Reply

 
