The Eclectic One

…Because labels are a poor substitute for thinking

Bristol Palin, an innocent victim of Republican hypocrisy

Posted by Bill Nance on September 3, 2008

Let me state one more time, in case someone missed it:  I think Bristol Palin is off-limits.

I just wish the Republicans would agree. Apparently they don’t, at least not when she’s politically useful, which has put this poor girl in the middle of a political fight she didn’t pick nor deserves.

According to Byron York, writing at the National Review On-Line, The Republicans are considering having the now-pregnant Bristol, along with her boyfriend take the stage tonight to a cheering crowd.

Family values? Ha!

Now let me again state, I don’t think the kid did anything wrong. 17-year-olds have sex. They do it in the vast majority of cases, and to all you religious zealots, I mean your daughters too. (They just don’t tell you about it) But according to the religious zealots who make up the majority of the Republican base, such behavior is immoral. If kids do it it’s a sign of poor parenting. Children must be protected from the very MENTION of sex, other than to be told to “just say no.” So where are all those “values” now?

I ask this today not because I have a problem with Bristol Palin, nor her boyfriend. I’m sure they’re terrific kids and are trying to do the right thing. Good for them! And I don’t say it’s because Sarah Palin is a bad parent. As far as I know she’s Mother of the Year. Kids get pregnant. Rough situation, but no “sin” as far as I’m concerned.

But in all honesty, the very notion that this subject is something the Republicans wouldn’t be raising Holy Hell about if the tables were turned is a lie so transparent it defies belief.

To quote York:

I don’t usually engage in these scenarios, but I’ll do it here.  If the Obamas had a 17 year-old daughter who was unmarried and pregnant by a tough-talking black kid, my guess is if that they all appeared onstage at a Democratic convention and the delegates were cheering wildly, a number of conservatives might be discussing the issue of dysfunctional black families.

I remind you, dear readers, that the Republicans made fun of Chelsea Clinton’s LOOKS. Yes they bloody well did, and more than once. They made fun of a gawky young girl because she wasn’t a beauty queen. A difference between myself and Bill Clinton. I’d have written a “Harry Truman” letter to Rush Limbaugh: “Some day I hope to meet you. When that happens you’ll need a new nose, a lot of beefsteak for black eyes, and perhaps a supporter below! Pegler, a gutter snipe, is a gentleman alongside you. I hope you’ll accept that statement as a worse insult than a reflection on your ancestry.”

Can you imagine what they’d have done if Chelsea Clinton had been pregnant? Or how they would have reacted if Obama had a teen daughter who was pregnant? James Dobson, Pat Robertson and all the rest of them would have screamed Holy Hell to the high rafters in indignation. To even pretend anything else is ridiculous.

It’s another cynical move, made by a cynical campaign. And putting country first apparently means before one’s family when it’s politically convenient.

I’m all for leaving kids alone.  But the hypocrisy on this issue tells us all one thing about the “conservative” base of the Republican party. Any sin will be forgiven. -Unless you’re a Democrat.

One Response to “Bristol Palin, an innocent victim of Republican hypocrisy”

  1. Reverend Manny said

    I’m with ya. This here is my favorite paragraph… “Can you imagine what they’d have done if Chelsea Clinton had been pregnant? Or how they would have reacted if Obama had a teen daughter who was pregnant? James Dobson, Pat Robertson and all the rest of them would have screamed Holy Hell to the high rafters in indignation. To even pretend anything else is ridiculous.”

    They woulda skewered the Clintons and much worse to the Obamas.

    Such silliness–no wonder the rest of the world doesn’t respect our politics. We’ve simply run out of adults to lead us.

    Another Sad Time to be an American,
    –Rev Manny

Leave a Reply

 
